First Land Deal, Need Advice

I have been doing Lonnie Deals for about 8 months now and everything has been great. Thanks to everyone who has helped. Now for the current situation and my questions…

I am actively seeking to buy land in my area, preferably that zoned for mobile home use. I will sell the land via contract for deed. Here are my questions:

• When buying land or lots, would you rather own a property on its own or a lot in a park? What are the +'s and -'s for each?

• Besides looking for comps for small parcels in that area, what’s the best way to put a value on a lot assuming you know lot rent for that area?

• If I am selling and not renting the land for mobile home use, should I expect to basically net most of the gross income? Won’t the new owners have to pay for water, sewer service, etc.?

I do have my eyes on a few lots ranging from 10k to 15k in my area. Lot rent in that area is 300-340. Should I be looking for certain cap rates or how should I determine target prices/values?

Thanks!

Are you hoping someone will put a MoHo on your land/site or are you going to put one on there?

I honestly am hoping they put a home on there, but I guess it doesn’t matter as long as they pay. I am just using the typical Lonnie Deal structure to do a land deal. I have researched this a bit and found out there are investors who do this very thing on land only and never deal with the homes. They do it on Rec land, SFH lots, vacant acreage, wooded land, all types of stuff. Any one have experience with this?

The reason I am starting with MH lots and land that would allow a mobile home is because that is what is in demand in my area. I have run some test ads and the majority of people that respond to my “Land for sale, low down, affordable monthly payments” type ads ask for mobile home usage.

I was just looking or tips on valuations, offers, how to structure the deals, costs of repossessing (foreclosing?) on the land, and much more.