Private lending paperwork

Hello:
I am located in Pennsylvania. I have been investing in real estate for about 12 years, and I am thinking about doing some private lending.

At some of the REIA meetings I have attended, I have spoken to people who are doing private lending using the following 4 documents.

1. Mortgage - Standard Fannie Mae document downloaded from the Fannie Mae website and which gets recorded in the local County Recorder of Deeds office
  2. Note - Again a standard balloon note document downloaded from Fannie Mae’s website.
  3. Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure - This is signed by the borrower and notarized and transfers the deed for $1 should the borrower default
  4. Personal Guarantee - pledges all assets of the borrower.

My questions:

1. Are these documents sufficient to protect the lender?
  2. As I understand the Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure, if the borrower defaults, the lender simply records this signed and notarized document in the Office of the Recorder of Deeds, and the property then belongs to the lender. Is that a correct understanding of that document? Does it really save the lender from having to go through the foreclosure process?
  3. If these documents are not sufficient to protect the lender, what other documents would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

Lots of law to consider

First I’d advise you to do pvt lending ONLY on NOO deals i.e to REIs only as in the OO area these days the feds and states have almost legislated that away.

So I’d make any borrower with a good-sounding deal give me his affidavit that his deal is an REI deal only and he won’t be living in the property; also get his FICO and fin statement so you know he’s capable of paying you.

Re the taking of a DIL, a lender on a 1st mtg or DOT needs to be very careful to ascertain that there is no subordinate mtg or DOT as those would not be closed out by a DIL…but those would be washed away if lender does full legal non-judicial or judicial foreclosure on mtg or DOT.